Originally founded in 1595 as a boys’ school, Wellingborough School has a long and distinguished history with strong roots in the local community. During its early years there were just two masters, the Headmaster teaching Latin and his deputy teaching English, each on separate floors. The impressive school building can still be seen today in the grounds of the town’s All Hallows’ Church.
After moving to its present site in 1881, the School grew rapidly in both size and reputation under the Headmastership of Dr Henry Platt. He was succeeded by Philip Fryer in 1907, during whose tenure the fine school Chapel was built, and the School’s proud heritage and prominent status continued to be consolidated by a succession of eminent and forward-thinking educationalists. In 1979 the School became fully co-educational and, reflecting national trends, Wellingborough converted to a day school in 1999, with additional teaching and social facilities being created from the boarding accommodation. The Preparatory School, originally known as Junior House, and later as the Junior School, was established in 1913, but it was not until 1990 that Wellingborough opened its doors to even younger children, in the new Pre-Preparatory School.
Today, with its three schools surrounded by forty acres of superb playing fields, Wellingborough enjoys an excellent reputation for its high academic standards and outstanding sporting and extra-curricular programmes, offering every boy and girl opportunities to discover and develop their full potential.